About Us

Feed. House. Empower. Image of the House of Charity building.

About Our History

Right from the start, in the early 1950s, House of Charity has been about transforming lives…one person at a time. Our founder, Brother de Paul, responded to the need he saw around him by providing food and shelter to the poor in Minneapolis. Since its beginnings on Nicollet Island, House of Charity has been located at several sites in downtown Minneapolis, and moved to its current location at 510 South 8th Street in 1976. Once a hotel, the building now houses 116 men and women who have experienced homelessness.

The Food Centre, at 714 Park Avenue, feeds more than 350 people each day. After 60 years, the work begun by Brother De Paul continues. Because of his legacy, the hungry are fed and the homeless find shelter.

One of our primary goals is to help struggling individuals meet their basic human needs of food and shelter while reducing barriers to their long-term self-sufficiency.

We do this by providing:

Mission, Vision, & Values

Our Mission

Feed those in need, house those experiencing homelessness, and empower individuals to achieve independence.

Our Vision

Transforming lives…one person at a time.

Our Values

  • Teamwork
    We strive to build strong and effective relationships.
  • Respect
    We value the rights and views of others.
  • Integrity
    We hold ourselves to the highest standards of professionalism, trust, and accountability.
  • Excellence
    We aspire to deliver services of exceptional quality.

Leadership Team

Bert Winkel

Bert Winkel

Executive Director
Mike Bennett

Mike Bennett

Volunteer & Outreach Services Director
Lesley A. Chester

Lesley A. Chester

Fund Development & Communications Director
Debra Chmieleski

Debra Chmieleski

Clinical Services Director
Evelyn Combs

Evelyn Combs

Client Advocate Director
Ken Galloway

Ken Galloway

Facilities Manager
Kyle Jackson

Kyle Jackson

Housing Director
Grant Thesing

Grant Thesing

Finance Director
Kevin Walker

Kevin Walker

Food Centre Director
Kathy Wiggin

Kathy Wiggin

Human Resources

Board of Directors

Joel Costa, Optum Health

Kirsten Spreck, Thrivent Financial
Past President

Roma Anderson Milton, Volunteers of America
Vice President

Ron Heinz, Carlson, Inc. (Retired)

Tim Anderstrom, KPMG, LLP

Jeffrey Bouslog, Fox Rothschild LLP

Susie Byers, Carlson, Inc.

Mark Engelen, IBM

John Kvinge, Larkin Hoffman Daly & Lingern, Ltd.

John Rogoz, Kraus-Anderson Construction Company

Gita Sitaramiah, Greater MSP

Pete Tonsager, MGK

Katie Uphus, Stone Arch Creative

Wendy Wehr, WendyWehr.com

Reggie Woo, US Bank

Deneen Gannon, Ameriprise Financial
Emeritus Board Member

Mark Peterson, Traust Group, Inc.
Emeritus Board Member